Best Music Videos of All Time??

According to nme.com, the top 10 greatest music videos of all time are:

10.  The Prodigy – Smack My Bitch Up (1998)

I remember seeing this video singing along to its catchy tune and then getting a big shock at the end.  Did not see that one coming.

9.  Sigur Ros – Viorar Vel Til Loftarasa (1999) (Good Weather for Air Strikes)

A really powerful video, set in the 1950’s.  When you compare it to the likes of pop videos made nowadays, you realise you watch those sugary pop videos to get away from reality for a while.  A touching song and video, representing really the milestone we aim to achieve on May 22nd.  #voteyes

8. Beastie Boys – Sabotage (1994)

A piss-take of 70’s cops shows and the like, but done in a great manner.

7. Weezer – Buddy Holly (1994)

A homage to Happy Days, superior editing for the time that was in it.

6. Foo Fighters – Everlong (1997)

A really well edited video full of monsters and metamorphosis.  Love the ending.

5. Bjork – All Is Full Of Love (1997)

A futuristic video that still stand the test of time to this day.  It’s also on permanent display at New York’s Museum of Modern Art.

4. Soundgarden – Black Hole Sun (1994)

Satiring the perfect American family, with a psychedelic feel of a melancholic song.

3. Chris Isaak – Wicked Game (1989)

Romantic song, 50 Shades of Grey-esque video.

2. Radiohead – Just (1995)

A man is lying on a pavement.  Why? Well….

1. Johnny Cash – Hurt (2002)

One of my favourite songs of all time.  The Man In Black is a legend.

”What have I become
My sweetest friend
Everyone I know goes away
In the end
And you could have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt ”

Originally a dark Nine Inch Nails song, Cash covers this song with such emotion.  Everytime I hear it, I feel it.  It has special meaning to me.  The video itself is so well done and artistically beautiful.  I love great songs but when the video compliments them and makes you love the song even more, it’s incredible.

” I wear this crown of thorns
Upon my liar’s chair
Full of broken thoughts
I cannot repair
Beneath the stains of time
The feelings disappear
You are someone else
I am still right here

The original by Nine Inch Nails (1994)

All videos sourced from YouTube.

Leave a Reply

