Veronika Decides To Die

A novel by Paulo Coelho.

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho

The Alchemist is one of his more famous novels, but today I want to talk about Veronika Decides To Die.  My sisters often inspire my choices, such as clothes, music, books.  My eldest sister was reading novels by this author named Paulo Coelho.  I don’t recall which novel of his I picked up first to read, but I remember Veronika…. I read it on a Sunday, cover to cover.  I’m certain I stopped for dinner only and maybe a toilet break.  It’s not a thick book to begin with but it was too good to put down.  Veronika is a 24 year old Slovenian woman….who decides to kill herself.  She wakes up in a mental hospital and is told she only has a few days to live.  Whilst in the mental institution, she releases all inhibitions she had whilst ‘living’.  I predicted the end of this book whilst reading it.

Veronika Decides To Die

Veronika Decides To Die

Published 17 years ago, it still has a great effect on me.  I would recommend anyone to read it, especially if feeling down.  Paulo Coelho himself is a best-selling Brazilian author.  I have read a handful of his books.  He was influenced by pilgrimages such as the Camino de Santiago, a route I would love to explore myself one day.  His books are vivid and imaginative.  They are inspiring and gives you new eyes on the world.  I have a boxset of his books and have decided to re-read them over the Summer.  I am excited to do so.  There is nothing like a good physical book in your hands.

http://www.paulocoelho.com/en/

http://paulocoelhoblog.com/

Leave a Reply

